skip to Main Content

The Planning and Development department supports the responsible improvements of the Metroparks with the focus of expanding and strengthening the assets within the three main mission pillars of recreation, education, and stewardship of our natural resources.

With staff experienced in the fields of urban/regional planning, landscape architecture, grant writing, and volunteer management, the Planning and Development Department coordinates initiatives, including:

  • Data collection and analysis
  • Property research
  • Park master planning
  • Facility site planning
  • Park system recreation planning
  • Signage updates
  • Garnering grant support from private and public entities
  • Engaging volunteer services from corporations, organizations, and individuals
  • Expanding public engagement and partnerships

Subscribe to receive park planning updates.

Projects

The Border-to-Border Trail: Huron River Drive D2 Segment pathway project beginning at the Dexter-Huron Metropark and ending at the intersection of Zeeb Road and Huron River Drive will begin work this month and expected to be completed in late November.

The official project web page can be found on the Washtenaw County Road Commission (WCRC) web link below. Project information and latest updates can be found here from the WCRC in partnership with the Washtenaw County Parks & Recreation Commission and Huron Waterloo Pathway Initiative (HWPI).

More Info: http://www.wcroads.org/wcrc-project/b2b-trail-huron-river-drive/


Public Input Opportunities

Upcoming Meetings

  • TBA

Questionnaires/Surveys

Please take a few minutes to fill out the following questionnaires concerning your Metroparks. Your responses will help us improve the quality of our parks and introduce new ideas for future developments.

  • TBA

Planning Documents for Public Review

TBA

Approved Planning Documents

Concept Plans

Master Plans

Huron-Clinton metroparks Community Recreation Plan 2018-2022


Staff

Nina Kelly, AICP, Chief of Planning and Development
Nina.Kelly@metroparks.com
(810) 494-6043

Tim Phillips, Park Planner
Tim.Phillips@metroparks.com
(810) 494-6022

Jason Bibby, AICP, System Planner
Jason.Bibby@metroparks.com
(810) 494-6031

Katie KowalskiVolunteer Services Supervisor
Katie.Kowalski@metroparks.com
(810) 494-6020

Janet Vandewinkle, Grant Writer/Recreation Programs Coordinator
Janet.Vandewinkle@metroparks.com
(810) 494-6017

Michelle NicholsGrant Writer
Michelle.Nichols@metroparks.com
(810) 494-6012

Leah DeasyPlanning Aide
Leah.Deasy@metroparks.com
(810) 494-6032

Back To Top
×Close search
Search