skip to Main Content

The Planning and Development department supports the responsible improvements of the Metroparks with the focus of expanding and strengthening the assets within the three main mission pillars of recreation, education, and stewardship of our natural resources.

With staff experienced in the fields of urban/regional planning, landscape architecture, grant writing, and volunteer management, the Planning and Development Department coordinates initiatives, including:

  • Data collection and analysis
  • Property research
  • Park master planning
  • Facility site planning
  • Park system recreation planning
  • Signage updates
  • Garnering grant support from private and public entities
  • Engaging volunteer services from corporations, organizations, and individuals
  • Expanding public engagement and partnerships

Planning Documents for Public Review

The Planning and Development Department, in conjunction with a Steering Committee, reviewed and updated the 2016-2026 Stony Creek Metropark Master Plan to ensure the master plan is still relevant for the next five years. The update includes demographic data, local community plans, public input, and revenue trends. The review also included:

  • Identifying major changes to facilities, infrastructure, and programming in the park
  • Instances where the needs and opportunities have departed from the 10-year action plan
  • Completed action items in the park
  • Identification of new actions necessary to implement the goals and policies for Stony Creek Metropark.

Stony Creek Metropark Updated Master Plan [PDF]


ADA Transition Plan

Stormwater Management Plan

Master Plans

Huron-Clinton Metroparks Community Recreation Plan 2018-2022


Staff

Nina Kelly, AICP, Chief of Planning and Development
Nina.Kelly@metroparks.com
(810) 494-6043

Tim Phillips, Park Planner
Tim.Phillips@metroparks.com
(810) 494-6022

Jason Bibby, AICP, System Planner
Jason.Bibby@metroparks.com
(810) 494-6031

Katie KowalskiVolunteer Services Supervisor
Katie.Kowalski@metroparks.com
(810) 494-6020

Janet Vandewinkle, Grant Writer/Recreation Programs Coordinator
Janet.Vandewinkle@metroparks.com
(810) 494-6017

Michelle NicholsGrant Writer
Michelle.Nichols@metroparks.com
(810) 494-6012

Leah DeasyPlanning Aide
Leah.Deasy@metroparks.com
(810) 494-6032

Back To Top
×Close search
Search